The New Age Mum

Our First day Steping onto Aussie Soil

Posted on: Wednesday, July 4, 2007

Stepping out of the Brisbane International Airport was definitely cold (it’s winter). My boys were happy to see their dad and the best is yet to come. Because we have taken the night flight from Singapore, we arrived at Brisbane in the morning. Therefore, we were certainly not heading home.

My hubby and his colleague took us for breakfast at a Chinese Restaurant. Perhaps because I have not adapted or perhaps because I am picky about my food, I seriously did not enjoy my ‘dim sum’. It really paled in comparison to the ones I have at home.

 The Chinatown seems weird too compared to the one back in Singapore. The Chinatown seems too quiet. I started to feel unsure and afraid. Perhaps there was even a hint of regret for coming over to Australia with my hubby.  But I had kept quiet about it when I see how happy my hubby was to see us.

But all those negative feeling changed when my hubby and his colleagues took us for shopping. The first place they took us was to the DFO (direct factory outlet). It was a place where we can buy quality goods at a cheaper price.

I certainly like it here especially the home wares. Unable to control myself, I bought 2 sets of Corelle dinner ware. They were like $30 to $50 cheaper than in Singapore and it was the latest design. I was simply elated. All the negative feelings were gone only to be replaced by excitement. As I walked on I could only feel myself feeling happier. I had bought some crystal wine glasses too.

It was soon time for us to leave for dinner. We went to an area known as Sunnybank. It is said to be the 2nd Chinatown of Brisbane. The a-claimed Singaporean food was ok but it was a tad too salty.

But the thing to be happy about is I know my boys are happy. Happy to be with their dad. Happy that we are together as a family. In fact my elder boy has already made friends with a colleague’s son.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

Read at your own risk. This site may contain some sensitive issues. Please do not carry on reading if you think it might upset you. The owner shall bear no responsibility to your emotional and physical health being.

Welcome to The New Age Mum

Hi I am Angelia Giam! This site is basically dedicated to my 2 very precious boys who have filled my life with the all the colours of the world. It is also about me striving to lead a balance and fulfilling life with the family I have created. I have also added some basic food recipes which I have tried and tasted; and recommended some parenting books which I have read and found it to be useful as well for all to share.

Traffic Counter

  • 31,515 traffic
©2007-2009 Angelia Giam
