The New Age Mum

Once Upon A Time

Posted on: Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Today I was talking another mummy based in the USA. Her hubby and mine were classmates and both are working in the same company now. 5 months ago, she gave birth to the most gorgeous boy I have ever seen and today she was panting out her frustrations on how much she wanted to put baby Davis into the microwave at times. This really made me recall how 1 year ago I had to carry Damir (then 6 mths) in a baby sling when I was cooking or doing the household chores. Those were the times I feel like:

  • Stir frying him together with the veggies
  • Drowning him in the bucket of water which I use to mop the floor.
  • Putting him in the garbage bin every Friday. (because the garbage truck comes every Friday)

Ya… sound scary isn’t it and people who do not know me might think I am having severe depression. However I know I am not since I did not carry out those acts. But those were the days; you will feel the swelling of your heart and the bursting of your vessels, the leaking of your tear ducts because the baby can’t understand you and you have tried every means and ways.

Though there is 1 thing I notice that whenever I calm Damir down in my most relaxed state, he gets really calm down very quickly like as if he understands that

  • I am not flustered or panicky
  • I am enjoying looking after him.

He seems to feel more assured and confident that I am capable of calming him down in the most relaxed and enjoyable way. I am really not sure how to describe that but after that it just works really well for me and it just seems to make me fall in love with him as the day goes by.

Hence Christine, I believe it is a passing phase and it will be “Once upon a time” for you soon. Just enjoy him for now which I know you already are.

My “once upon a time” is over now with new unfounded and founded challenges which will turn to “Once upon a time” soon. Parenting can be the most gruelling and perhaps the most unfulfilling job at times but it is certainly worth it to see the twinkle in their eyes and the upward curves of their mouths displaying their deep dimples.   

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

Read at your own risk. This site may contain some sensitive issues. Please do not carry on reading if you think it might upset you. The owner shall bear no responsibility to your emotional and physical health being.

Welcome to The New Age Mum

Hi I am Angelia Giam! This site is basically dedicated to my 2 very precious boys who have filled my life with the all the colours of the world. It is also about me striving to lead a balance and fulfilling life with the family I have created. I have also added some basic food recipes which I have tried and tasted; and recommended some parenting books which I have read and found it to be useful as well for all to share.

Traffic Counter

  • 31,515 traffic
©2007-2009 Angelia Giam
