The New Age Mum

Helping My Boys to Learn to Read and Write (Part 2)

Posted on: Thursday, October 16, 2008

Last week I have written on the book review of ‘How to Help Your Child Read and Write’ by Dr Dominic Wyse. Today I am going to share my experience of reading with Clemens (3y3mth) and Damir(20m).

Reading with Clemens

When Clemens was a baby, I did not really read with him because, I thought he wouldn’t be able to understand and perhaps my lack of patience. However since coming to Australia, I had all the time in the world as a full time mum and I did not want to waste the precious time I am having with my boys. Hence I really make it a point to read with them as and when they want and like.

To my surprise, I was amazed that after reading the same book for about 3 times, Clemens was able to memorize the book and end up ‘reading’ to me instead. When I say ‘reading’, it is not because he can read word for word in the books but usually when he reads to me, it is based on his memories as what I have read to him and based on the pictures on the book. He has really been such a dear too because during the time when I am mopping the floor, I will just throw a book to Clemens and ask him read to Damir. This keeps my boys occupied for about 15 mins which is really good enough for me to get some things done around the house and most of all hearing Clemens read to Damir and Damir paying attention to Clemens can be the most heart warming and hilarious thing on earth.

For Example:

Book Text (extracted fom “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle):

Clemens Reading to Damir:

Clemens: On Saturday, caterpillar eat a piece of chocolate cake, ice-cream, pickle, cheese, salami, lollipop, pie, sausage, cupcake, and watermelon.

Damir: (pointing to each of the food Clemens had mentioned and in fact will read certain pictures like cake, ice-cream, cheese and melon together with Clemens)

Both: Caterpillar had a tummy ache!!!! (Both rolling on the sofa, clutching their tummies as if they were the ones having the tummy ache)

Reading with Damir

Perhaps because he has Clemens as an example, it was really easy to culitivate his interest in books. At 20m, he is one who will sit and hear me or Clemens read to him, pointing to every picture you have mentioned from the book. He is also one who will open the bookshelf, grab a book and run after me, shouting, “Book book! Read book!” He will also pretend to play going to the library with Clemens, borrowing out books from the book shelf and returning it after reading.

What I have learnt from seeing my boys and reading the book by Dr Dominic Wyse:

  • It is never too late to read to a child.
  • Kids have amazing memories.
  • Every picture tells a story.
  • Playing at reading helps to lead kids to play-read independently.
Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

Read at your own risk. This site may contain some sensitive issues. Please do not carry on reading if you think it might upset you. The owner shall bear no responsibility to your emotional and physical health being.

Welcome to The New Age Mum

Hi I am Angelia Giam! This site is basically dedicated to my 2 very precious boys who have filled my life with the all the colours of the world. It is also about me striving to lead a balance and fulfilling life with the family I have created. I have also added some basic food recipes which I have tried and tasted; and recommended some parenting books which I have read and found it to be useful as well for all to share.

Traffic Counter

  • 32,023 traffic
©2007-2009 Angelia Giam
