The New Age Mum

The Golden Silence between a Father & Daughter

Posted on: Thursday, October 30, 2008

My Very Extremely Handsome Dad

One of the most touching email I receive this week is from my dad. Because he knows that my hubby is away for quite some time and seeing my MSN shout out, I think he reckons that I am distress and this is part of what he sent me in the email:

“…… my dear daughter, dad is here any moment, any time, waiting for you to come back. Don’t cry and be more independent. I know it is difficult for you to handle 2 monkeys but you are very lucky to have 2 very cute monkeys. And because you are member of the GIAM family, you must remember that we produce super and heroic girls.”

Now things to clarify:

  • I am not in distress or crying.
  • I think at the moment I am really enjoying my new found independence.
  • I am no heroine and super.

However I must say that upon receiving this email from him really makes me very happy and all giggly like a daddy’s princess again and I am definitely grinning from ear to ear. It just brings me back in time to the days where he taught me how to draw, taught me art and helps me to find excuses to explain to my teachers on why I have not done well in school.

During the year when I am taking my PSLE, I was able to finish my Mathematics paper on time and yet score well because my dad was the one who calculated on how much time I should spend on doing each questions.

When I did not do well in my ‘O’ levels prelims, he was obviously disappointed and on the actual day when I collected my actual GCE ‘O’ Levels results, he was the one who called me on my mobile to tell me that it is ok to repeat Secondary 4 again till I told him I was a 12 pointer.

During my tertiary years, I did not take my studies in high regard hence I had to repeat for another year, therefore using more of his CPF monies. He told me it is fine as long as I graduate with a Diploma certificate.

When I finally graduated from school, and was looking for my 1st job, he was the one who gave me the strength and courage to seek for jobs in big organizations.

When I got pregnant before I was married, other than my mum and my hubby-to-be then, my dad was also a really good source of support helping me out with my wedding. During my 2nd pregnancy, my dad had a car and he was the one who drove me to work on a daily basis, buying me breakfast, meeting me for lunch at times and working overtime on his side just because I am working overtime so that he can just drive me home. (Ya I am so lucky to the extent that my colleagues thought that my dad is my hubby.)

Though he was really reluctant for me to come to Australia with my boys as a full time mum, (we had massive arguments about it) he was the one who had helped me packed up all my cartons to be sent over to Australia and our luggage to be sent to the airport for check in.

Those who know my dad will be very surprised that he actually has a huge impact in my life and what I am today because, my dad is a very stern man of little words with big fiery temper, and he is rather opinionated and chauvinistic. We do have our arguments and most of the time, like most father and daughter relationships, we hardly see eye to eye. However, I must say that it is the little little actions and the kind of heartfelt concern we have as a family that has brought us this close.

I can still list the many things he did with me when I was a young girl but I remembered that we hardly talk. Our turning point was when I first got pregnant with Clemens. It was there and then when our father and daughter relationship was taken to another height: Conversation & Communications.

Much of my today lifestyle with my boys is partly influenced by my dad too, like art & craft, flying kite, and riding a bike.

Daddy, I must tell you that I do love you very much too and though there are times that I may not seem to listen to your advises, I am actually listening to every word you have told me and I do weigh them out when I am having time alone to sort out all my thoughts. It is just like how I pass my driving test in one sitting. As a young girl (about 12y then), I have ever ask you before, why is it so easy for you to pass your driving test in one sitting and you replied that if I ever wanted something so badly or if something is so important to me, I will get it by all means in one go. Though there are times I am really guilty that I did not turn out the way you wish for me to be, I also strongly believe that you are also in a way very proud to have me as your daughter. My independence, determination, and capability to defend myself and most important, your very precious 2 monkeys too. J

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

Read at your own risk. This site may contain some sensitive issues. Please do not carry on reading if you think it might upset you. The owner shall bear no responsibility to your emotional and physical health being.

Welcome to The New Age Mum

Hi I am Angelia Giam! This site is basically dedicated to my 2 very precious boys who have filled my life with the all the colours of the world. It is also about me striving to lead a balance and fulfilling life with the family I have created. I have also added some basic food recipes which I have tried and tasted; and recommended some parenting books which I have read and found it to be useful as well for all to share.

Traffic Counter

  • 31,846 traffic
©2007-2009 Angelia Giam
