The New Age Mum

Childhood

Posted on: Tuesday, November 11, 2008

board-games

That is my big boy preparing for a game of Snakes and Ladders in the form of Speed Racer.

If I were to recall which was the best part of mine childhood, I would say that I really enjoyed playing scrabble with my mum and Uno with my dad. I really appreciate the time my parents will find the time to play the games with us.

Hence now, I too will find time to play with Clemens. We play most of the time when he doesn’t feel tired for afternoon naps while Damir is already napping. Why when Damir is sleeping? Well it is not because I am biased (but maybe I amJ). It is because at his age, he can really be destructive and it can really drive me nuts when playing with him and Clemens. Where else for Clemens, he is able to listen to instructions and he can play really well and beautifully. It is also like an individual bonding time I can enjoy with him since Damir already has nearly all of me to himself every Monday and Thursday.

It really tickles my heart whenever I see the smiles on my boys’ faces and it is a really wonderful feeling for me to know that I have made them happy. It really makes me wonder too which part of their memories they will bring with them to adult hood and when they become parents themselves I often wonder what they will tell their kids. Perhaps for example they might tell their kids, “Whoa you know what kids? Your grandma was really a cool mum to us and we bet that she is going to a really hip grandma.”  Or perhaps they might say, “You know what kids? Your grandma used to be such a tyrant that she really scares the shit out of us.”

Yah I know I have been thinking too much again. Yet again thoughts like these really set me into fits of uncontrollable giggles myself that I think I am really crazy at times. I really basked in the happiness and chattering of my boys. Yah I think they chitter and chatter a lot for boys.

Again since I have talked about childhood and tyranny, I never knew that I was so scary till I found an old secondary school classmate in facebook. And this is what he wrote to me recently.

“A long time indeed. Hi how have you been? It is good to see that you’re a happy mother (of 2?). Time sure flies eh, not too long ago you were scaring the shit out of me in class. Huge difference in just 10years.”

It really sets me into fits of laughter again as I recalled the very best of mine secondary school days and yup I am really excited to meet up some of mine long lost friends when I return to Singapore in December.

Facebook is a really wonderful tool for reconnecting and connecting people. The person who thought of this is truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

Read at your own risk. This site may contain some sensitive issues. Please do not carry on reading if you think it might upset you. The owner shall bear no responsibility to your emotional and physical health being.

Welcome to The New Age Mum

Hi I am Angelia Giam! This site is basically dedicated to my 2 very precious boys who have filled my life with the all the colours of the world. It is also about me striving to lead a balance and fulfilling life with the family I have created. I have also added some basic food recipes which I have tried and tasted; and recommended some parenting books which I have read and found it to be useful as well for all to share.

Traffic Counter

  • 32,388 traffic
©2007-2009 Angelia Giam
