The New Age Mum

Damir’s Smell-of-the-World Pillow

Posted on: Thursday, February 26, 2009

damir-pillow

My Damir at 2yr 3mth, has rather good motor, co-ordination and language skills.  He is beginning to piece up sentences with,”Mum, I want….” very clearly. Most of the time I can understand what he wants and we will be able to reach a deal amicably.

However what I do not understand is why he is always carrying his Smell-of-the-World pillow around. I call it Smell-of-the-World because he literally brings it with him around to all places and occasions that the pillow smells of:

  • His sweat when after playing, he picks up his pillow and hugs it;
  • His milk when he accidentally drips some of it on the pillow;
  • His drool when he sleeps on it with his little mouth open;
  • His food when he cleans his dirty mouth with it;
  • The earth when he brings it to the playground and drops it on the ground;
  • The rain when he uses it to cover his head when we are out and it is raining.

He treats it like a treasure bag as if it is his everything and it will be an honour to you if he lets you have a sniff at the corner of it.

I know this sound and smells disgusting but occasionally I will pick up his Smell-of-the-World pillow, inhale deeply into it and smile stupidly as all mine fondest memories with him comes gushing back.

By the way, don’t get it wrong that we have never washed this pillow before. We wash it and sun it weekly, and it smells of the sun when we return it to him. But once when it is in his hand, this little pillow of his will start to go on adventures with him again for a week to smell like the world.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

Read at your own risk. This site may contain some sensitive issues. Please do not carry on reading if you think it might upset you. The owner shall bear no responsibility to your emotional and physical health being.

Welcome to The New Age Mum

Hi I am Angelia Giam! This site is basically dedicated to my 2 very precious boys who have filled my life with the all the colours of the world. It is also about me striving to lead a balance and fulfilling life with the family I have created. I have also added some basic food recipes which I have tried and tasted; and recommended some parenting books which I have read and found it to be useful as well for all to share.

Traffic Counter

  • 31,515 traffic
©2007-2009 Angelia Giam
